Mid Season Grades - Offense

This forum is for Football related topics only. Other topics will be moved to the appropriate forum.
GrandPoubah

Mid Season Grades - Offense

Post by GrandPoubah » November 15th, 2020, 10:28 am

I’m pretty new to Utah State football...moved in from out of state and chose the Aggies as my team because I love to root for the underdog. I’ve come to realize that it might have been a bad choice, but once I make my call it will take a lot for me to change my mind.

Anyway, here goes....

Offense -
QB - F - pfft
RB - C- - might be the closest to be an average MW position group. I’m inclined to say this is our best position group. However, would you take any of these guys over the guys we’ve played in the previous 4 games? I didn’t think so.
WR - D- - imprecise routes, unable to locate the ball and bad high point. When a player makes the same mistake 3 times in a game and no one is talking to them when they come off the field, that shows how bad the coaching has become. I think this position group coaching might be the worst on the O. Actually seems to have regressed vs previous games.
OL - D+ - was supposed to be our most talented/experienced position group. Giving up penetration, not great pass blocks, all are waist benders other than the LG. Fresno actually penetrated the OL unevenly and opened up holes. Also, did y’all notice they block with heads down on XPs and at least one Fresno playercleared our guys on almost every XP/FG attempt (blocking the first one)? I mean, can there be no in game adjustment?

Overall, I watch our O and they celebrate after making one good play even when down multiple touchdowns. They feel robotic with little passion. All are there to just do the minimum to fulfill their job, except the RBs. Shows they done have a love/trust for each other.

We don’t have a single position group that is at least an average/acceptable MWC group other than our kick returner/team????? I don’t think we do.