Is anyone else somewhat .. empty, about this team and the tournament win?

This forum is for Basketball discussion only. Other topics will be moved to the appropriate forum.
Detroit-Aggie

Is anyone else somewhat .. empty, about this team and the tournament win?

Post by Detroit-Aggie » March 25th, 2024, 10:42 pm

Had you told be back when I was a senior at USU (2011) that in 2024, the basketball team would be playing in the MWC, would win the division, win a tournament game, and spend much of the year nationally ranked - I would've been over the moon about that!

But I'm not. I'm pretty indifferent about that.

I feel detached from Aggie hoops this year. I got excited about the tournament games, but this wasn't a basketball team I cared about. Maybe because I graduated 13 years ago and live half-way across the country now, but I think it's situational to this team. I loved Sam Merrill and Neemy ... and Brock, and Bean... like I remember these guys years later. I'll probably remember them in a decade like I do Jaycee, Gary, Tai, Quayleman and his rebounds, Moore...

This year? This wasn't an Aggie basketball team. I respect them all as talented players, but they were not Aggies.

Osobor is NBA talent, but he's a Bobcat and will finish his college career in Washington. Darius? He's a 6th year senior - I'm happy he spent that one year here. Martinez? I'm happy he got a chance to shine this year; Maryland wouldn't give him a shot. Mason could've been an Aggie, but the rumors are suggesting transfer portal. I won't remember these names next year - maybe Osobor. I never felt attached to this team. None of them were here last year, most of them will be gone next year. The coach? Sparkle or whatever? He was great. We're a bullet point on his resume. He's a bullet point in Utah State basketball history for winning a round-of-64 game. It's a successful business transaction with no hard feelings.