Justin Fields - Epilepsy

Big Blue's House is intended for general sports talk, sharing ideas, announcements, etc.
Imakeitrain

Justin Fields - Epilepsy

Post by Imakeitrain » April 21st, 2021, 10:21 pm

https://247sports.com/college/ohio-stat ... 164487423/

Fascinating. He's been playing with epilepsy for years. Hopefully this doesnt affect his draft too much. I tend to not be a fan of Ohio State QBs in the NFL, but it would be a great story for someone with epilepsy to get drafted in the 1st round or even be one of the all time greats.
These users thanked the author Imakeitrain for the post (total 2):
aggies22RockyMountainHigh

Yossarian

Re: Justin Fields - Epilepsy

Post by Yossarian » April 23rd, 2021, 9:17 am

That is great for Fields that he has been able to achieve the level of success he has with epilepsy.

I'm no doctor and certainly not one to tell someone else what they can or can't do, but I have to question the wisdom in participating in a sport that is prone to concussions and potential brain injuries by someone that already suffers from epilepsy. You gotta live your life, but living with long- term brain injury doesn't sound like fun. I wish him the best.

Eutaw St. Aggie

Aggie formerly in Hawaii

Post by Aggie formerly in Hawaii » April 23rd, 2021, 10:11 am

Yossarian wrote:
April 23rd, 2021, 9:17 am
That is great for Fields that he has been able to achieve the level of success he has with epilepsy.

I'm no doctor and certainly not one to tell someone else what they can or can't do, but I have to question the wisdom in participating in a sport that is prone to concussions and potential brain injuries by someone that already suffers from epilepsy. You gotta live your life, but living with long- term brain injury doesn't sound like fun. I wish him the best.