Is Mason out for the tournament

This forum is for Basketball discussion only. Other topics will be moved to the appropriate forum.
slcagg

Post by slcagg » March 15th, 2024, 5:24 am

We really need him to advance

ImportAggie

Re: Is Mason out for the tournament

Post by ImportAggie » March 15th, 2024, 6:41 am

I am not a doctor or medical professional and 1000% talking out my (I can't express myself without swearing) here, mostly.

My prediction is Mason has a torn labrum,
Or rotator cuff. I noticed at the New Mexico game they snuck him back to the locker room after tweaking it mid game. It looked partially out, and like it was a sitting really low in his joint like it’s really loosened up. And the time I figured it was anatomically, and probably is.

If there’s any weight to my speculation — He was probably able to come back in vs New Mexico because with dislocation injuries like that you’re usually fine mobility wise until you stop moving it, then the swelling sets in and you stiffen up like a board (from personal experience with labrum tear as well as constant knee dislocations in high school). You lose all mobility and it’s super painful trying to loosen it up for around a week. Which adds up as someone else pointed out in another thread that now he’s even high fiving guys with his left (could just be over cautious advice from trainers)

I hope I’m wrong tho. He can definitely play with the injury in a week if they get the joint swelling down but if its loose enough it’ll just keep popping out, partially or maybe even fully depending. At which point you can maybe hit him with a steroid shot and send him out next game in the tourney, but that’s a huge risk in my opinion. Those steroid shots Can deteriorate your soft tissue and weaken bone so if I was him or his coaches I wouldn’t for his longevity, but maybe if he needs surgery to repair a labrum they can give him enough to recover without too much significant damage in the off season